skip to main content
BJES Receives TELL Kentucky Winners' Circle Honorable Mention
Posted On:
Thursday, September 10, 2015
News Image

Ben Johnson Elementary School

Receives TELL Kentucky Winners’ Circle Honorable Mention


Congratulations BJES Learning Community! Our school has been selected as one of the Honorable Mentions regarding teaching conditions, school safety, and student achievement.


The initial selection included the list of schools that reached the 50% minimum threshold for response rate on the TELL Kentucky survey.  For Phase II, the schools that ranked in the third or fourth quartiles regarding working conditions were then selected to move on to the next phase.


Schools in Phase III were then examined for details regarding their TELL Kentucky results, as well as other criteria (such as school safety), using a rubric designed by the New Teacher Center and the TELL Kentucky Advisory Team. Phase IV schools met all of the minimum criteria for selection.  The Advisory Team reviewed these and 66 exemplary schools across the state, aiming for representation in each of the State Board/Judicial Districts. These are the Honorable Mentions of which our school is included.  


As our school has been identified for this honor, the school will be compiled on a list and given to educational leaders in Kentucky so that others are aware that our school is doing great things and can provide some best practice models.  This honor also places our school in consideration for the Winners’ Circle Award to be announced September 22.  


From these Honorable Mentions, one school in each of Kentucky’s State Board/Judicial Districts, and three at-large schools will be awarded the Winners’ Circle honors during the 3rd Annual Kentucky Continuous Improvement Conference September 21st-22nd in Lexington, Kentucky. These ten outstanding schools with excellent TELL Survey results and student achievement will be recognized for their remarkable teaching and learning conditions during the conference and will also be used as examples of best practices across the state.


This is a great accomplishment for our school.  Thank you for helping to ensure that our students will succeed in a teaching and learning environment that is conducive to achievement!



Schools among Honorable Mention include:


Ashland Ind.                       Ashland Middle

Ashland Ind.                       Hager Elementary

Ballard Co.                         Ballard Memorial High

Barren County                   North Jackson Elementary

Barren County                   Park City Elementary

Boone                                 Conner Middle

Breckinridge County           Ben Johnson Elementary

Bullitt                                   Eastside Middle

Butler County                     Green River School

Butler County                     North Butler Elementary

Calloway Co.                     SW Calloway Elementary

Carter County                    Tygart Creek Elementary

Daviess County                  Whitesville Elementary

Daviess County                  Deer Park Elementary

Elliott Co.                            Lakeside Elementary

Erlanger-Elsmere                Arnett Elementary

Fayette                                Carter G Woodson

Fayette Co.                         Opportunity Middle College

Fayette Co.                         Carter G Woodson

Fayette Co.                         Veterans Park Elementary

Floyd Co.                            W  D  Osborne Elementary

Floyd Co.                            Allen Central High

Ft. Thomas                         Johnson Elementary

Garrard Co.                        Paint Lick Elementary

Graves County                  Fancy Farm Elementary

Graves County                  Lowes Elementary

Graves County                  Symsonia Elementary

Hardin County                   North Park Elementary

Harlan Co.                          Evarts Elementary

Harlan Co.                          Rosspoint Elementary

Hart County                        LeGrande Elementary

Hart County                        Cub Run Elementary

Hazard Ind.                        Roy G. Eversole Elementary

Hazard Ind.                        Hazard Middle

Hopkins County                Earlington Elementary

Jefferson County              Bowen Elementary

Jefferson County              Chenoweth Elementary

Jefferson County              Stopher Elementary

Johnson Co.                      Meade Memorial Elementary

Johnson Co.                      Flat Gap Elementary

Johnson Co.                      W  R  Castle Elementary

Johnson Co.                      Porter Elementary

Kenton                                Kenton County Academies of Innovation and Technology (KAIT)

Kenton                                Ft  Wright Elementary

Laurel County                    Cold Hill Elementary

Laurel County                    Bush Elementary

Leslie Co.                           W B  Muncy Elementary

Logan County                    Olmstead Elementary

Logan County                    Auburn Elementary

Madison Co.                      Waco Elementary

Martin County                    Warfield Elementary

Monroe County                 Gamaliel Elementary

Monroe County                 Tompkinsville Elementary

Monroe County                 Joe Harrison Carter Elementary

Morgan Co.                        Ezel Elementary

Morgan Co.                        Morgan Central Elem

Morgan Co.                        Wrigley Elementary

Nelson County                  Thomas Nelson High

Wolfe Co.                           Red River Valley Elementary 




Michael Broadbent, BJES Principal

View all Spotlights